CastleCornwallEnglish Heritage4.4
Launceston Castle rises above the town that once guarded the principal route into Cornwall. Its unusual keep combines several stages of construction, including the tall tower added by Richard, Earl of Cornwall, in the thirteenth century. Climbing through this arrangement rewards visitors with wide views over the town and surrounding countryside. The exhibition traces the castle's changing roles, including its later use as a prison, and displays archaeological finds such as whale bones. Families can follow Rupert the cat through stories connected with the local poet Charles Causley. Reviewers particularly recommend the views and the small museum, while warning that the climb involves many steps and narrow stairs. The outer bailey, exhibition and shop have accessible entry arrangements, but the tower requires climbing. There are no public toilets on site; use town facilities and the nearby charged car park.
Accessible outer bailey, exhibition and shop via an alternative gate. The keep and tower have steep, narrow stairs and no lift; accessible parking requires prior arrangement.
Last entry is 30 minutes before closing. Tickets are valid all day within opening hours.
English Heritage members enter free; National Trust membership alone does not grant admission. Book by midnight the previous day for the advertised 15% advance discount.
There are no public toilets on site.
2026-09-14 to 2026-09-27: Mon, Tue CLOSED; Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun 10:00 - 17:00.
2026-09-28 to 2026-10-04: Mon, Tue CLOSED; Wed 10:00 - 17:00; Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun 10:00 - 16:00.
2026-10-05 to 2026-11-01: Mon, Tue CLOSED; Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun 10:00 - 16:00.
2026-11-02 to 2026-12-20: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun CLOSED.
2026-12-21 to 2026-12-27: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun CLOSED.
2026-12-28 to 2027-01-03: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun CLOSED.
2027-01-04 to 2027-03-14: Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun CLOSED.
2027-03-15 to 2027-03-16: Mon, Tue CLOSED.
Seasonal prices apply; use the official booking calendar for the selected date.
Dogs at the location: Not confirmed. Pet-dog permission was not stated in the official property/facilities information checked; confirm with the site before bringing a dog.
Dog walks in the grounds: Not confirmed. Pet-dog permission was not stated in the official property/facilities information checked; confirm with the site before bringing a dog.
Dog walks in the surrounding area: Not confirmed. No separate surrounding dog-walking route and its access rules were verified from the official property information.
Free entry with English Heritage membership
Adult admission. Standard-day walk-up price without donation. Saver 8.10 GBP; peak 10.00 GBP. Book by midnight the previous day for the advertised 15% discount. EH members free.
Children aged 5-17; under-5s free. Standard-day walk-up price without donation. Saver 4.00 GBP; peak 5.00 GBP. Book by midnight the previous day for the advertised 15% discount. EH members free.
Eligibility is checked during booking. Standard-day walk-up price without donation. Saver 7.20 GBP; peak 9.00 GBP. Book by midnight the previous day for the advertised 15% discount. EH members free.
Two adults and up to three children aged 5-17. Standard-day walk-up price without donation. Saver 20.40 GBP; peak 25.00 GBP. Book by midnight the previous day for the advertised 15% discount. EH members free.
One adult and up to three children aged 5-17. Standard-day walk-up price without donation. Saver 12.20 GBP; peak 15.00 GBP. Book by midnight the previous day for the advertised 15% discount. EH members free.
The Trust's page does not say how parking is charged.
No site parking. The nearest pay-and-display option is the Westgate Street multi-storey opposite the castle. Accessible staff parking can be arranged with the castle in advance; tariffs are separate from admission.
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!
Leads: Not confirmed for pet dogs.
Seasonal dog restrictions: Not confirmed separately; advertised access times and closures apply.
Assistance dogs: Not confirmed separately in the visitor information checked.